Sign in to follow this  
Association

Learning languages

Hello,

I've got 3 years of programming experience, but to be honest most of it was web design and stuff, so I'm not yet fully familiar with all basic programming concepts. I've recently started learning C++ and since it's quite a complex language I figured I'd read a book, as I usually do. Though I'm just starting, programming can be extremely fun for me and I'm planning on becoming a software developer when I grow up. Anyways, the book I chose was: Beginning C++ Through Game Programming. It's also uploaded at: URL. Since I know quite a few of you are programmers in this community (I find being in a group of actual programmers awesome, since I'm way ahead of my classmates, as they mostly waste their lives playing games), I'd very much appreciate it if you could just quickly browse through it and see if it covers everything it should and from a scale of 1-10, at what level of C++ knowledge I'll be after reading it (I'm guessing around 2 :D ). Also, if you've studied C++ too, what books have you read / how did you learn?

Thanks in advance. :thumbup:

I was wondering if it is really possible to be good programmer and get a fine job without any universities by learning from books or google. I'd like to be independent developer of a game and promote through steam greenlight/kickstarter... ehh dreams :rolleyes:

I haven't really been specific to one language myself.

All my languages and progress in the languages are in my about me on my profile.(Not up to date)

@DavidO For game programming you don't need knowledge of a language these days a lot of programs just use code blocks instead.

If you want to get in more advance games you need C normally but i believe Unity can use C and Java.

Here's a nice little project I made in like an hour and a half: